Summer is Coming

It’s Friday morning. Early.

Not long ago, at this time of day, the sun would still be sleeping and my house would be quiet and dark. Not any more. The sun rises before me these days. And somehow that changes the energy of my day. My morning writing time feels more rushed, as though any minute a little one will wander downstairs all sleepy and grouchy at having to get ready for school. In truth, I have almost an hour before I should expect any significant interruptions.

But I am still distracted.

After today, there will be only two more weeks of school left and then the energy of our whole household will change. Everyone (except me) will sleep in a little later and wake up knowing there is absolutely nothing they need to get ready for. My DH, also a full-time student, finished his last final exam of the semester on Tuesday. Very soon his days will be spent out in the back yard, keeping an eye on the kids, and soaking up the summer sunshine and blue skies. Oh, and potty training our youngest. It won’t be much longer until we are diaper free!

My routine, however, remains the same. Get up early. Write. Go to work. Come home. Try to enjoy as much of the nice weather as possible. Still, it feels different. Hibernation season is over up here in the Northwoods. Late spring (because early spring is still just to cold) and summer are for getting out and about, seeing friends, going to concerts in the park, taking long walks with the kids and short jaunts to West Side Tasty Treat for ice cream after dinner. Summer is for late nights by the campfire or movie nights on the big projection screen my DH made for outside.

A bit more difficult to remember is that it’s also a time for writing.

I am about a third of the way into the first draft of book three in a series scheduled to release next year. I am so excited about this series and with the first two books already turned in to my editor, this last one will carry me through the summer and fall. The heroine in this third book is a feisty little thing who demands adventure and simply will not allow me to leave her dawdling for any length of time, which is a good thing with all these summer distractions.

Which reminds me…I had better get back to her before I hear little feet padding down the stairs.

Here’s to the long days of summer.

20140905_201714_LLS

Movie night in the back yard.

Leave a Reply

